Thankfully, 2016 is now just a memory fading in the past. The horrible year is over. So many things broke my faith in humanity, but I’m not going to let it ruin 2017.

2016, was the year of death and heartbreak. From heroes, to family members, no one was safe. Not even my plans for the future were safe, but not this year. This year I’m going to make sure I stay on top.

To start with my determination to make 2017 a better year, instead of dwelling on all the horrible things that happened, I’m going to take a look at the achievements I made. Even if they were small. They were still achievements none the less.

In 2016, I made my vow to be fearless and that is exactly what I did. I was bold, did things that terrified me and conquered a lot of inner demons.

I chopped off all my hair and did something I was too afraid to do before – be myself. And well, I rocked it!

Bring on the #change #haircut #selfie #makeup

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

I brought back my love of bold makeup and started expressing myself again.

 

Be #bold #selfie #undercut #makeup #redlips #longhair

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

I graduated from College with honours.

 

Officially #graduated from #durhamcollege #selfie

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

I learned to love my body, and to stop listening to what the social norms dictated. I posted photos that were more revealing. I was terrified, but it was exhilarating to let go.

 

First #walk of the year #gettinghealthy #fuckyourbeautystandards #fuckyouknee

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Relaxing in the #bath #bubbles #tattoo #fearless

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Now to #doitagain and #walk home #selfie #nomakeup

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

After a long day I'm #relaxing with all the #bubbles #selfie #bathtub

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Rocking a #croptop today because #ican #fyourbeautystandards #selfie #nomakeup

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

I also pushed myself farther then I have in almost 10 years since the car accident. I was able to walk 3km one way and 3 the other without having my knee go out on me. Despite all of its issues. I’m not going to let it hold me back anymore.

 

Rocking some #kttape into #toronto today #thesix

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

I also did something completely terrifying. I went to conference for the Toronto Argos, CFL, TFC, and many other big names is Canadian sports and I put myself out there. I was the only girl in the group and I rocked it and stood out among the rest. The executives and even the owner of the Toronto Argonauts will remember who I am. I was nervous and sweating, but I didn’t miss a second of the action. I proved to myself that I deserved to be there and that I could do it. Here are some photos from my experience.

 

 

This year I also came to terms with my infertility which you can read with the rest of the great writers here in the Missy Ink Magazine Winter 2017 issue starting on page 46, or you can read it on my portfolio here.

I also recaptured my creativity and started the path on a new chapter and adventure in life that will be starting very soon.

Good bye #emotions hello #art #abstract #acrylicpainting

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Because #animals are #better #horse #3pencilcrayonchallenge #art #nature

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Playing with #watercolours while I do #laundry #create #paint #jellyfish #bubbles

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

Now to #wait for it to #dry #painting #horde #circleofoboros

A post shared by Amy Bridges (@xamybridgesx) on

 

Now that I have gone through a long list of achievements throughout 2016, I’m going to try and put the moments that made me hide from the world behind me. Let’s get this new year and new adventure started!

Colour outside the lines,

A hopeful and positive Amy

Leave a Reply

